Patrick Lencioni in his book “The 5 dysfunctions of a team” offers us his pyramid of the 5 behaviors that can be assimilated to levels of team maturity. These levels are built on top of each other, the higher level can only be developed if the lower level is consolidated.

Level 1: Trust

You can’t build a team without trust. The team members have to trust each other and therefore agree to let their vulnerability appear. One of the brakes to this transparency is the fear of being vulnerable. The temptation is great not to communicate to others information about his privacy or personal flaws in order not to give taken to critics.

Level 2: Conflicts

Once the trust is reached between the team members, it is necessary to approach the higher level, that is, to be no longer afraid of tackling conflicting points about the company’s running. Evidence of the non-attainment of this level is precisely the absence and avoidance of conflicts giving the impression of a false harmony within the team, while festering conflicts accumulate. On the contrary this level is successful if the team members are able to express and defend their points of view but also to listen to those of others in order to be able to argue. At the end of this “conflict”, when a decision is taken, the stakeholders must be convinced by that decision, or at least be committed to implementing it. Which brings us to the next level.

Level 3: Commitment

If level two allows for “frank discussions” to commit to a decision, it is as important that once the decision is made, it will be put into action. Failure at this level can prove that the conflict in the previous stage has not been completely exhausted and the decisions accepted. The failure to pass this step is illustrated by ambiguity of the actions of the team members. Their actions are not clear in the light of the decisions taken. It may be advisable in this case to go back to the previous step to definitively purge previous arguments or address the new arguments that would not have been taken into account.

Level 4: Responsibility.

The fourth level accessible only, just like the other levels, in case of success of the previous level is the acceptance of being accountable for the accepted shares. Failure at this level is seen by the flight of some team members to their responsibilities or complacency in poor results compared to the target set. Everyone should be able to count on the other members of the team, it is important that everyone assumes their responsibilities for the team to advance.

Level 5: Attention on results achieved

The fifth level, “attention to results” logical continuation of the previous level, can be skewed by problems of ego and personal status. Indeed some may want to pass their personal goals before the team or corporate goals registered previously.